top of page

The Story of the Old House 5/5 // Keramikos


to read 1/5 click here

to read 2/5 click here

to read 3/5 click here

to read 4/5 click here

5/5:

„So I decided to go back to him after one month to ask the help he offered me before. So I went to his place, smiling. He told me this is the first time after so many months that I see you smiling. I didnt know what else to do, because I was afraid of his ideas, you know, and his character, because we couldn't have the license for the restaurant or the coffeeshop, he told me „do you want to make a small boutique hotel?, do you want to make a photo studio, do you want to have a bakery? Every month, he had a new idea because he didn't want to do it somewhere else than Plaka. And at the same time, he knew that we couldn’t have the license. So I said „I decided to rent the shop and to start my business, and back then, you told me that you wanted to help me“. And then he said „I can not help you“. And that was a shock for me. But I have a good family, my mother and my sisters, they gave me some money, of course I have to give some money back, not „some“ money, a lot of money actually, and I’m trying for my best now. So this is the background of my business. I don’t know if it’s a great story, but for me it is a very strong one because, you know, I was disappointed because of my brother, I was waiting, thinking that he is my brother. And he didn’t help me.“

-Stratos, Owner of the "Old house" in Keramikos

"Έτσι αποφάσισα να πάω πίσω σ'αυτόν μετά από ένα μήνα για να ζητήσω την βοήθεια που μου πρόσφερε πριν. Έτσι πήγα στον σπίτι του χαμογελώντας. Μου είπε ότι ήταν η πρώτη φορά μετά από μήνες που σε βλέπω να χαμογελάς. Δεν ήξερα τι άλλο να κάνω, γιατί φοβόμουν τις ιδέες του,ξέρεις, τον χαρακτήρα του , γιατί δεν μπορούσαμε να έχουμε την άδεια για το για το εστιατόριο ή για το μαγαζί με τους καφέδες,μου είπε, θες να κάνεις ένα μικρό ξενοδοχείο-μπουτίκ ; Θες να κάνεις ένα στούντιο φωτογράφισης, θες ένα φούρνο ; Κάθε μήνα είχε και μία νέα ιδέα , γιατί δεν ήθελε να το κάνει κάπου αλλού πέρα από την Πλάκα. Και ταυτόχρονα ήξερε ότι δεν μπορούσαμε να έχουμε την άδεια. Έτσι είπα : " Αποφάσισα να νοικιάσω το μαγαζί και να ξεκινήσω την επιχείρησή μου και τότε μου είπες ότι ήθελες να με βοηθήσεις." και έπειτα είπε : " δεν μπορώ να σε βοηθήσω ". Και αυτό ήταν ένα σοκ για μένα.

Αλλά έχω καλή οικογένεια, η μαμά μου και οι αδερφές μου , μου έδωσαν μερικά χρήματα, βέβαια πρέπει να τους επιστρέψω μερικά χρήματα,όχι μερικά χρήματα,βασικά αρκετά χρήματα και τώρα κάνω ότι μπορώ.

Έτσι αυτό είναι το υπόβαθρο της επιχείρησής μου,δεν ξέρω αν είναι μία μεγάλη ιστορία , αλλά για μένα μένα είναι πολύ δυνατή διότι , ξέρεις, ήμουν απογοητευμένος από τον αδερφό μου, περίμενα, σκεφτόμουν ότι είναι ο αδερφός μου. Και ότι δεν με βοήθησε. "

-Στράτος, ο ιδιοκτήτης του "Old House" στον Κεραμεικό

A big THANKS goes out to Xaris & Konstantina who did the translation ! What would I be without you guys

smile emoticon

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page